Peanut Butter-Strawberry-Dark Chocolate Scones

I have been on a strawberry kick lately. This morning, I put it in my cereal with my usual scoop of peanut butter. Yesterday, I had it as a side with my baked beans (what? I don’t know). I’ve also been craving strawberries scones.

With this, comes an ethical dilemma: I have such a love for a particular scone recipe, that it would just seem like a sin to bake anything else. So, I compromised.

Here’s what you’ll need:

Why, yes, those are packets of salt that you get from packs of plastic forks. I’m a college student. I don’t have salt shakers.

Though.. it would come in handy for tequila shots.

(I’m kidding.)

This killed my supply of dark chocolate chips. RIP.

A coffee cup was the only thing I had to put the strawberries in.

Also note that this cup has no handle. I’m clumsy. I take after my 3-year-old niece.

(Wait, .. that’s not the way it works?)

Omelet idea?

Now, here is when it starts getting good.

This also killed my honey supply. OMG look at that delicious golden deliciousness.

My mouth is watering at this point. But, I did not lick the measuring cup, if that’s what you are thinking.

(I totally did. And it was tasty.)

I REALLY need to go to the store.

Glad I decided against working on my arms this morning.

Try not to eat them as is. They’re better baked. I promise.

I don’t know WHAT is wrong with that little guy. It definitely doesn’t look like it because I at it, if that’s what you were thinking.

Adapted from The Peanut Butter Boy:

  • 1/2 c. (rounded) peanut butter (any kind)
  • 1 1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 c. rolled oats
  • 3 T honey
  • 3 T brown sugar
  • 2 t. baking powder
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1 c. fresh strawberries, chopped
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 c. milk (I used Soy)
  • 1/3+ c. mini dark chocolate chips
  • 1 t. vanilla

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

2. Soak the oats in 1/4 c. milk and set aside.

3. In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, salt, baking soda, and chips together.

4. In a small bowl, lightly beat the eggs and milk together. After, add the strawberries.

5. Add the oats, honey, peanut butter, and vanilla to the flour mixture.  (mixture will be lumpy)

6. Combine all.

7. Scrape the dough onto a clean surface, and divide it into two equal batches. Form the dough into discs about 1 in. high. Cut each disc into 6th, and add to a greased baking sheet.

8. Bake for 20 minutes.

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter-Strawberry-Dark Chocolate Scones

  1. Haha, love the walkthrough you gave. So what was he verdict? Bananas or strawberries? What makes a better scone?

    Also, the recipes are fairly similar but I noticed you used double the milk. Its not too liquidy? Maybe because it’s soy milk you need to add more? I might try doubling the skim I use to make them a tad moister. Thanks for sharin =)

    • I think I still like the banana version better!

      I was kind of iffy about the extra milk, but I wanted to soak the oats, instead of adding them in dry. The dough was still pretty thick, I was pleasantly surprised.

Leave a Reply

